7 Gulden    (sold for $284.0)


1761, Netherlands, West Friesland. Gold 7 Gulden "½ Golden Rider" Coin. VF-

Mint Year: 1761 Reference: Friedberg 299, KM-129. R! Denomination: Gold 7 Gulden "½ Golden Rider" Condition: Removed suspension loop at 12 o'clock (the coin was previously used as a pendant), otherwise VF+ Material: Gold (.917) Diameter: 22mm Weight: 4.96gm

Obverse: Armored knight riding horse brandishing sword galloping above crowned shield with arms of West Friesland below. Legend: MO : AUR : PRO CONFOED . - BELG : WESTF . (privy mark: cockerel) Reverse: Crowned shield with dutch arms, date (17-61) split above. Value (7-GL.) in fields. Legend: CONCORDIA RES PARVAE CRESCUNT Translated: "Through concord little things grow (Union is strength) "

The Republic of the Seven United Netherlands (or "of the Seven United Provinces") (Republiek der Zeven Verenigde Nederlanden/Provinciën; also Dutch Republic or United Provinces in short, Foederatae Belgii Provinciae or Belgica Foederata in Latin) was a European republic between 1581 and 1795, in about the same location as the modern Kingdom of the Netherlands, which is the successor state.

Before 1581, the area of the Low Countries consisted of a number of duchies, counties, and independent bishoprics, some but not all of them part of the Holy Roman Empire. Today that area is divided between the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg and parts of France and Germany. The Low Countries in the 16th century roughly corresponded to the Seventeen Provinces covered by the Pragmatic Sanction of 1549 of Holy Roman Emperor Charles V.

Through marriage, war or sale, these states were acquired by the Habsburg emperor Charles V and his son, king Philip II of Spain. In 1568, the Netherlands, led by William I of Orange, revolted against Philip II because of high taxes, persecution of Protestants by the government, and Philip's efforts to modernize and centralize the devolved medieval government structures of the provinces. This was the start of the Eighty Years' War.

In 1579, a number of the northern provinces of the Netherlands signed the Union of Utrecht, in which they promised to support each other in their defence against the Spanish army. This was followed in 1581 by the Act of Abjuration, the declaration of independence in which the provinces officially deposed Philip II.

The United Provinces first tried to choose their own lord, and they asked the Duke of Anjou (sovereign from 1581-1583) to rule them. Later, after the assassination of William of Orange (July 10, 1584), both Henry III of France and Elizabeth I of England declined the offer of sovereignty. However, the latter agreed to turn the United Provinces into a protectorate of England (Treaty of Nonsuch, 1585), and sent the Earl of Leicester as governor-general. This was not a success, and in 1588 the provinces became a Republic.

Only 1$ shipping for each additional item purchased!

type to read more
This coin has been sold for   $284.0

Notes: http://www.ebay.com/itm/152514808137 2017-04-24

Page Cache: http://st.coinshome.net/page-cache/d28b6c3b09cd4b1aac6523e51c15d58c.html
Online collections - Toolbar
Posted by: anonymous
Coin Group
 Denomination: 7 Gulden
 Metal: Gold
 State: Dutch Republic (1581 - 1795)
Description:   English
Coin variations: 13 instance(s)
Additional views:
You may be interested in following coins
1 Ducaton Dutch Republic (1581 - 1795) Silver
1 Ducaton Dutch Republic (1581 - 1795) S ...
group has   5 coins / 5 prices
3 Gulden Dutch Republic (1581 - 1795) Silver
3 Gulden Dutch Republic (1581 - 1795) Silver
group has   21 coins / 20 prices
2021-05-11 - New coin is added to 5 Franc Belgium Silver Leopold I of Belgium (1790-1865)

    5 Franc Belgium Silver Leopold I of Belgium (1790-1865)
group has    22 coins / 21 prices

CoinWorldTV 1851, Kingdom of Belgium, Leopold I. Large Silver 5 Francs (5 Frank) Coin. VF+ Mint Year: 1851 Reference: KM-17. Engraver: Leopold Wiener Denomination: 5 Francs (5 Frank) Condi ...
2021-05-11 - New coin is added to 8 Real Guatemala Silver

    8 Real Guatemala Silver
group has    3 coins / 3 prices

CoinWorldTV 1768, Guatemala, Charles III. Rare Silver 8 Reales Coin. Spanish Pillar Dollar! Mint Year: 1768 References: KM-27.1. R! Mint Place: Guatemala City (G) Assayer: Pedro Sanchez de Guzma ...
You may be interested in ...
Dynasty tree and coins
Check yourself!

Coin Puzzle
Coins Prices